Brains Award

Winning team Formauto

Brains Award


Finals BRAINS Award 2015

Five educational institutes were represented during the finals of BRAINS Award 2015 on Friday, June 5 in Muziekgebouw Eindhoven. Twenty candidates pitched  their innovative and/or sustainable idea  in front of the jury and the public. Four prices of EURO 5.000 each, were to be devided. STARTUP/eindhoven student-entrepreneur Max Aerts finally became one of the winners as representative of team Formauto.

Here are the winners of BRAINS Award 2015:

  • Max Aerts, winner of the DLL Duurzaamheidsprijs, the price for the most sustainable and innovative idea, sponsored by De Lage Landen. Max represented team Formauto, a student team in the Energy Area.
  • The so-called Leefbaarheidsprijs for the wellbeing of people in general, was granted by the Municipality of Eindhoven and handed over to Daisy Ambaum of team View-IT (Fontys). View-IT is developing a Virtual Reality software programm for patients to offer them the virtual experience of being outside.
  • Govert Flint (DAE) became the winner of the Bright Move – TU/e Innovation Lab Innovatieprijs with his Bionic Chair. This price was handed over by Jo van Ham, member of the University Board of the TU/e.
  • The public chose the winner of the Publieksprijs. Daan Halters of Team Gloet (SintLucas) received most of the public votes with the idea of a ceramic cup made userfriendly by adding a smart heat detection system.


Among the TOP20 candidates, there were six TU/e students who were less fortunate but deserve to be mentioned for their positive contributions to the wonderful evening: Jeroen Geerts, Jochem Timmers, Cameron Weibel, Dino Dizdar, Maaike van den Boomen and Berry Hendriks!